Real Money With Lydia #2

Dear reader, welcome to the second edition of Real Money Where I get honest about something that’s happening with my money situation.

In my last real money post, I shared with you that I was over budget and explained my plan to try getting through the month without doing any extra borrowing & using the resources available to me. Guys, I learnt so many new things about myself in the month of July & I’m excited about sharing them in this post.

P.S: In case you have not read my original Real Money Post, you can find it here.

First of all, I learnt that I can do stuff. This may sound trivial to other people, but seeing that I could come up with a grown up plan and stick with it was very encouraging to me & I felt really proud of myself. I was driven and focused and I knew why I was doing what I was doing. This is the month in which I discovered my personal Motto for the next few years of my life.

“I do what I have to do, so that I can do what I want to do.”

This Quote according to the internet was originally attributed to that wonderful man Denzel Washington & it fits in so well with the woman that I am becoming. (More of this in another post)

Through having the no spend days (4 days in a week where I was not allowed to spend any money), I realised the true extent of my impulse buying habit. On several occasions, I caught myself rationalising a purchase that I did not need, going as far as picking it up and walking to the counter only to remember that I was having a no spend day. This directly resulted in money being saved. I had to ask myself, Lydia is this how you spend money all the time?

During this month, I was very conscious of the fact that £1 spent today was £1 that I could not spend tomorrow and that made me plan ahead a lot. I thought of ways in which I could plan my eating whilst I was away from home so that I wouldn’t have to buy expensive food whilst out and about. This thinking ahead and actively planning my meals and days was not new to me. It was simply something that I had convinced myself that I could never do successfully, but this was the month when I surpassed my own expectations and planned ahead successfully. Shock horror guys, once I put my mind to it, I am capable enough to achieve  my targets and do what I say I will do.

It wasn’t all perfect & despite my best efforts, I started to falter in recording my spending accurately at the end of the month – This probably happened because I knew that Payday was around the corner & my struggle would soon be over.

In this month, I learned a lot about myself & realised that I feel most beautiful when I am learning about myself.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

